Wednesday, March 08, 2006


The U.S. Senate voted 89-10 on Thursday, March 2, to re-authorize one of the worst travesties of justice to come out of the aftermath of 9-11, the constitutionally-impaired "USA Patriot Act."

I keep "Patriot Act" in quotes, even when I speak, because anyone who reads it will quickly see "Patriot" is a creative (read: deceptive) use of language, kind of like saying “Good with children” instead of “child molester,” or calling a serial-rapist "socially awkward."

10 Senators stood up against the crowd. I can't say I particularly liked any of them before or that I do now, but I have a little bit of newfound respect for those who said NO. I hope my respect is not misplaced.

Senate NO votes on the Unpatriot Act re-authorization

Robert C. Byrd. - West Virginia
Russel Feingold - Wisconsin
Daniel Akaka - Hawaii
Jeff Bingamen - New Mexico
Tom Harkin - Iowa
Patrick Leahy - Vermont
Carl Levin - Michigan
Patty Murray - Washington
Ron Wyden - Oregon
Jim Jeffords - Vermont

Not voting was Daniel Inouye - Hawaii

In case it matters, all of the list but Jeffords (Independent) are listed as Democrats, which means every Republican voted for approval along with most Democrats.


Post a Comment

<< Home